CS 371P Fall 2021: Bruce Nguyen

Bruce Nguyen
3 min readOct 30, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

This past week, I took the time to continue working on the assignments in my courses. I was also able to spend some time preparing my course schedule for the spring semester as well as register for courses overall. As the weather has been getting colder, I also went on a few outdoor walks this week.

What’s in your way?

I do not have anything that I would consider as being in my way as of right now, but I do really miss seeing my family back in Houston. I have only been able to go home once since the beginning of the semeseter and am really looking forward to being able to see them again in a few weeks.

What will you do next week?

Next week, I will be taking the time to start on the next project in my Object Oriented Programming course. I also have an exam coming up, so I will definitely be studying and preparing for it. Along with these plans, I will also be holding a very fun and interactive event for my students in our UTCS Pod.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #10: Dependency Inversion Principle?

After reading the paper for this week, I really came to realize how important abstractions are and how useful they can be if used correctly. I think that the paper really did an amazing job of providing examples and explanations for designs using abstractions. I have definitely use abstract classes before and will be sure to continue using them whenever necessary in my future Object Oriented Designs.

What was your experience of iteration, functions, heap arrays?

I have definitely had a lot of experience with iteration and functions throughout my courses and personal projects. I have also been able to work with heap arrays a few times in the past so they were also very familiar to me. I definitely think that the recent lectures on these topics really helped me to look further into the details of each of these topics.

What made you happy this week?

I was really happy to see that the weather has been getting a lot colder lately here in Austin! I think that the weather outside currently feels amazing and really motivates me to spend time outdoors. I was also really happy to be able to complete a lot of the things that I had planned to finish this week!

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

When developing software that is comprised of many different components and functions, I high recommend creating workflow diagrams in order to be able to visualize the different parts of an implementation. I also think that workflow diagrams are generally really useful in presentations in order to help the audience visualize a specific process.

--

--